European Seven Series Rugby Championship in Barcelona

Posted on 6 July 2011 in Barcelona, always!, Sports

Campionat Europeu de Rugby 7

Campionat Europeu de Rugby 7

A dozen national seven-a-side rugby teams, the best in Europe, will be facing each other in the European Championship Seven Series in Barcelona on 9 and 10 July.

That means world champions Wales and other top sides like England, France, Italy and Spain, among others, will be at the Lluís Companys Olympic Stadium on Montjuïc.

Seven-a-side rugby, or “rugby sevens” is a variation on the traditional game of fifteen players. It is a spectacular game, fast, because it is played on a normal-sized pitch and it will be an Olympic sport for the first time at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Barcelona follows Lyon and Moscow as the third of four cities involved in the Championships, which will end with a final round of matches in Bucharest in mid-July.

Rugby F.I.R.A. European Seven’s Grand Prix Series | From 09/07/2011 to 10/07/2011
Estadi Olímpic de Montjuïc Lluís Companys -> Pg Olímpic, 17 | Sants-Montjuïc

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *